Posted on: December 15, 2017

LEISD Education Foundation Awards Record Number of Grants

PreK Lakeview Teacher Team Shouts for Joy when they learn about Award

Little Elm Education Foundation LogoThe Little Elm Education Foundation Grant Award Patrol was at it again. This time the crowd was bigger, and the money was greater. Announcing to the teachers was a bit of a shock as an army of seven Education Foundation Board members and four Little Elm ISD Administrators surprised each teacher in front of their students and colleagues. Amy Hillock, Education Foundation President, presented 26 teachers with an award certificate. Nearly $22 thousand in grant money was given in 23 different grants. Some teachers were awarded as a team, like the PreK teachers at Lakeview. They will use the money to purchase flexible seating for their students. "We had the best time today going around to all the schools and giving our LEISD teachers their awards for Innovative Teacher Grants," said Hillock. 

Teachers were asked to fill out a grant application in the fall to describe how they would use the grant money if they were awarded. A committee of foundation members reviewed each applicant and picked winners based on a rigorous rubric. 

"I want to let you know the committee was very impressed with all the winners and how they plan to use the money," said Dr. Tony Tipton, executive director for Marketing and Community Relations. "We think kids are going to benefit tremendously in each of these classes," said Tipton who also serves as a liaison between the District and the foundation. The innovative teacher grants will assist in purchasing items that will help with a variety of things such as flexible seating, Makerspace equipment, interactive projectors, sensory labs, games for family learning nights, literature for Social Studies, a Lego building wall, Dallas Opera workshop, kindness crew activities, STEM projects for K-5, STEM applications for engineering, hands-on equations, and many others. 

"Those teachers were so thrilled when they learned they were getting a grant to help fund some their innovative projects," said Daniel Gallagher, superintendent. "All of our teachers work so hard and what they provide our kids is incredible. Anytime you can provide additional support, it is very meaningful because it is not about the products they buy, but the message it's sending to the teacher showing our support."

Learn more about how you can contribute to the Little Elm ISD Education Foundation and support what teachers do in the classroom.

WATCH as the teachers are awarded their grant money.

Congratulations to the following winners:

Julie Ratliff - Hackberry

Lisa Hunter - Brent

Kyla Heffernan - LMS

Nancy Burzynski - Hackberry

Kimberly Northcutt - Hackberry

Mariza Escamilla - Hackberry

Elizabeth Moen - Lakeview

Lynda Harkins - LEHS

Tina Tipton - Lakeview

TJ Parks & Marilyn Masinag - Lakeview

Kaitlen Olsson - Hackberry

Vanessa Del Valle - Hackberry

Hailey Vail - LEHS

Amber Larue & Thomas Swinden - LEHS

Nicole Wood, Amber Grey, Mackenzie Martin, Carrie Sheppard, Todd Nollman - Lakeview

Megan Branch - - Hackberry

Wendy Marquez - Hackberry

Rachel Carothers - LEHS

Karla Figueroa - Hackberry

Deborah Deverich - Lakeview

Holly Parra - LEHS

Foundation members award LEHS Theater teacher grant money

Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in LEISD News